Easter–Adventist Style

April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday

 

Easter wasn’t really a big deal in my family growing up. Part of this was because I grew up Adventist. Easter is always on a Sunday, and Adventists go to church only on Saturday.  So there was no big “Easter Service”  at church (though occasionally pastors would preach a sermon about the resurrection on the Saturday immediately before Easter Sunday.)

However, some years my mom would take me to a family gathering at my grandma’s house, where my cousins and I would have an Easter egg hunt and a big meal afterward. I got lots of candy, and even some money. (Sometimes the eggs we found had coins in them instead of candy.) The majority of my mom’s family isn’t Adventist, so this big family event was secular in nature, save for the prayer Grandma always had before meals.

It may sound strange to my readers, but I actually managed to make it to my early teens before I found out Easter had to do with anything religious. When I was a little child, Easter had more to do with bunnies and eggs than Jesus and the resurrection. In fact, I think I discovered the Christian meaning of Easter when I read some feel good story on the internet!

Why didn’t I know that Easter had to do with the resurrection? I’m not sure. Maybe I just never gave it much thought. Maybe I never made the connection that hey, we study the story of Jesus’ resurrection in Sabbath School right about the time we do that big family Easter egg hunt.

 

Like a lot of Adventists, my parents taught me that the Easter Bunny, like Santa Claus, wasn’t real. They told me that this was because they didn’t want to get in the habit of lying to me, but also, they realized that if they told me that Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny were real, I would find out the truth eventually anyway, and then what? Would I put Jesus in the same category as Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny, deciding that if my parents had lied to me about the existence of one then they had also lied to me about the existence of the other? They shuddered in horror at the thought.

So they told that it was actually Daddy that went outside and hid the eggs, but that he was pretending to be the Easter Bunny. Playing pretend was fun, wasn’t it? (My dad never actually wore a rabbit suit, for the record.)

My family was ok with me playing pretend, as long as I knew it was pretend.

So yeah, I don’t really have a whole lot to say about Easter as an Adventist.

How about the rest of you?

Leave a Reply

