Technical Difficulties

I’m having issues with my computer, so until I can get an appointment at the Genius Bar (which used to be so easy to get and are now a pain) enjoy these pictures of my cat.

I apologize for any typos. I’m writing this on my phone, and it’s a bit more difficult to edit on this dinky little screen with the fairy sized keyboard. 
Thursday or Friday there will be a project sunlight post. It’s just that everything else is already written, (I often have at least 5 posts worth of rough drafts written at any given time) and I can’t get to it. 

Today we’re going to talk about taking your car for a drag. Not all cats can be leash trained, and all will need a very slow introduction to the Leash and harness. My cat, who shall be known here as Karma, because I blog under a fake name and so does she, went at a glacial pace. We started with just the harness, then slowly moved to dragging the leash around the apartment. 

Then we went for walks around the inside of the building before finally venturing outdoors. 
Walking a car isn’t like walking a dog. With dogs, you choose the direction you go and the dog follows. A cat, on the other hand, picks the direction you go and refuses to go anywhere else. Remember, you are her Slave, not her owner.

Here is a picture of Karma trying to stalk a bird. She has been in this position for at least 2 minutes.,

   
Sometimes, your cat will have to take a rest from eating grass and stalking birds and the ducks that love next door. (yes, actual real live ducks. No, I don’t let her chase them.) 

 You have to introduce new places sloooowly. Karma is comfortable in her own backyard, and then she got to be ok with the front yard. I thought she might like exploring the park. She loved it–for about 5 minutes. Then she realized she didn’t know how to get back home if she needed to. I think I’ll build up slowly to the park, making sure to give her plenty of time to explore the street.  
But Abby, why do you need the leash? Can’t she just run free?
No. This is a terrible idea. I live in a neighborhood with skunks, raccoons, possums, and college students. Also, this way I can make sure she doesn’t eat anything she’s not supposed to that I think would make her sick. This is, I think, a good from promose between those in the “indoor cats only!” Camp and the “cars need to be out in nature” camp.
Also, the owners of the aforementioned Ducks would be a tiny bit pissed off of we let our cats run free. 

It’s good for kitty and it’s good for me, because slow walks around the yard are still excercise, right? Right. Or at least, that’s what I’m going to tell my doctor when he (she?) asks me if I’ve been exercising. 

Leave a Reply

