The Thanksgiving Post

I know, I know, it’s a little late. This year’s thanksgiving was a little…. interesting. I didn’t get to celebrate it with my family, partly because everyone was working, and partly because my aunt suddenly died a few days before.

Happy Thanksgiving, family!

Nevertheless, despite the family tragedy, there are still things to be grateful for this holiday season.

  1. I had a friend to spend thanksgiving with, yay! I think being alone would’ve driven me crazy.
  2. My new cat, Karla! She is currently playing fetch with her little catnip mouse. She spent the entire first month in my house ignoring the catnip toys, until I bought her a catnip plant, which she immediately devoured when I wasn’t looking. Now she’s a catnip junkie. I’m so thankful for her, and even though I’ve only had her for 2 or 3 months, I already I couldn’t imagine life without her.
  3. My friend who helped me pay my vet bills. Which I’m still working on paying her back for.
  4. This new anti depressant is the first I’ve tried that doesn’t make the room spin, yay! Its effectiveness has yet to be fully determined, but I think it’s working, at least a little bit.
  5. My new apartment. I don’t have to interact with people so much, here, which is great. Also, no mice!
  6. My SAD lamp. Doesn’t help my depression, but it’s a really soothing light, regardless.
  7. Joshua. For helping me quit.
  8. That I didn’t die in the car crash. I’m actually only thankful for this on alternate Thursdays.
  9. Certain co-workers who bring me coffee.Especially on those days when I look as bad as I feel.
  10. My new pebble
  11. my new kindle.
  12. My boss, Wocka. He works his ass off and inspires me to do the same.
  13. My brother Justin
  14. Getting to go to KOL con this year, which will be the last official con.
  15. My dear friend “Lucy,” who sent me a binder.
  16. This free cat condo thingy I found at the side of the road.
  17. And yes, I’m even thankful for that ungrateful little brat kitten, Snowball. Because without him, I probably wouldn’t have Karla. And occasionally he makes me laugh…. when he’s not biting or clawing my hand off.
  18. The Nintendo DS3. And the person who gave it to me. When I told her I was trying stop (or just cut back on) drinking, She gave it to me so I could use it as a distraction when cravings for booze hit. It only works 8 times out of 10 but hey, that’s a much higher rate than the whole “pray the cravings away” idea my ex best friend had.

I’m sure I could think of many more if I tried….but despite the fact that I’m sober, my head is pretty fuzzy tonight. Possibly because I stayed up late last night playing fantasy life.

And now, if you’ll excuse me, Karla managed to throw her toy mouse where she can’t reach it. So now I have to go find it for her.

Help Me

 

Leave a Reply

