Buttercream Gang Part 4

We last left our Intrepid Adventurers friends the Buttercream Frosting Eaters on their way to rescue the Widow Jenkins.

I can’t believe adults let us watch this without the disclaimer: Don’t try this at home.

So, in case you need it, here’s the Disclaimer: Don’t Try This At Home.

 

This is seriously dangerous.(It also looks like serious fun, haha) I’m just going to post screenshots because I can’t describe it. It is narratively stated that they have done this before.

 

 

 

They appear to be using some kind of pulley system by swinging the rope over a tree branch, then swinging Scott up to the 2nd floor balcony.

 

Up walks the little girl, who asks what they are going to do. Well, they are going to somehow use the rope to swing up to the second story balcony. And they don’t use the girl, who is clearly smaller than all of them and would be easy to swing up there because…. why, exactly? I don’t know. Elton says “There’s no way I’m going up there,” because he is clearly the smartest of the bunch.

 

Yes kids, this is DEFINITELY what you should be doing instead of calling an ambulance. Good job kids.

 

Lanny and Elton (I think?) Hoisting Scotty up.

 

I have to admit, it does look super fun for Scotty though. Still, I maintain that this is much more dangerous than just calling whatever passes for emergency services in the middle of absolute nowhere.

Scotty (I think….seriously they all look alike to me): Mrs. Jenkins! Are you ok!

Mrs. Jenkins: I’m ok I think. I’m so glad you’re here….

Because now they can use your phone to call you a real ambulance! Don’t worry Mrs. J, they’ve been trained in first aid. One of them will hold C-spine till the ambulance arrives, the others will keep you comfortable by doing such things as bringing you water if you are dehydrated, turning off the stove if it happens to be on, getting you a warm blanket…

JUST KIDDING!

Seriously, Elton was able to see her from the first floor windows, yet it looks like Mrs. Jenkins passed out while upstairs? I didn’t see the boy go down any stairs, did you?

Stupidly, the boys help her to her feet. She gets very frightened when she falls and can’t get up. Then she should…. take steps to make sure she isn’t alone when it happens? Seriously.

Actually, I sympathize with her. It must be very scary to fall and not be able to get up. It must also suck to want to live on your own while knowing you really can’t anymore.

The boys ask if she needs anything else. She says she needs some stuff from the store, if they have time. Of course the boys have time! It’s not like they have baseball practice to get back to or anything.

Actually, all snark aside, I do respect the boys for being all “sure, no problem.” They clearly are sincere in their desire to help, and they still look concerned about her. I have to give them credit for that. Even if they are letting their baseball team down by doing it.

Mrs. Jenksins says to “be sure to get yourself some treats at the store with the change.” to which they respond, “yes ma’am!”

At the store, we are introduced to my favorite character in the whole movie, Mr. Graff. He observes that they are on “Butter cream business” and then proceeds to explain the origins of The Buttercream Gang. Apparently he used to be one. His Great Grandfather was one of the first Buttercreamers. One of the boys begins to say that he’s told them that a thousand times, but another boy cuts him off. I like that, I really do. It’s very respectful to listen to an old person’s story multiple times, especially because, if you listen to it often enough, you can remember it better when you get older. And that’s valuable, real valuable, even if you can’t see it at the time.

I never thought I’d care about some of the stories grandmother told, but now I try to remember them, going over them in my mind again and again till I’ve got all the details right, because I want to Remember her, because, due to dementia, she can’t remember much of herself.

/tangent.

Anyway, back to the story.

A raid of the town killed several of the men. I get the impression this was during some war, but we’re not told which one. Anyway, a minister asked the teenage boys of the town to help the now widows by churning their butter. It was very hard work, apparently.

He tells scott the groceries cost $15.30. Wow, even for a single woman, that’s…. not a lot of $$. Did things really used to be that cheap? My mom actually saved a grocery receipt from 1988 when I was born. I should have her dig it up for me, if the thing is still readable, to tell me what the prices were on things…. I’m not sure about 1988, but the ink receipts are printed on nowadays is just… well, I can’t read it after a month, so I’m hoping the thing survived. I know exactly where it is, it’s just… I can’t get to it at the moment. Neither can mom, actually, so nevermind. Wow. Groceries must have been a lot cheaper back in the early ’90s/late 80s when this movie was shot.

The store keeper continues on with his story.

Anyway, the town started calling the boys “The Buttercream Gang,” and the town’s had one ever since. “I was one too, when I was your age.”

I like this guy already. I’m not always a fan of old people, but I always love it when people tell stories about “when I was your age.” Even when I was not an adult, they fascinated me. Especially then, because I’ve always found childhood more interesting than adulthood.

Storekeeper says these are the best Buttercreamers he’s ever seen (wow, the previous generations must’ve been especially horrible, then) and then says, “you give all that change to Mrs. Jenkins, the treats are on me, from one Buttercreamer to another.”

Ok, I like this guy all over again. He’s really nice.

But… seriously…. treats?! Treats are what I give my dog. I am amazed that people in this video keep referring to snacks as “treats.” That settles it. In my head canon, every time the boys go to the store to get “treats,” they are going to get Beggin’ Strips. My dog loves beggin’ strips. I miss my dog. She’s so cute….

Elton actually does suggest using the money to get snowcones, even though they just got “treats” for free from the storekeeper, who told them to give the change to Mrs. Jenkins. I…. kinda like this actually. It’s realistic, and something that would’ve at least crossed my mind. Because I am a horrible selfish bitch like that. Elton rightly gets shot down by Scott and Lanny, and I would’ve wanted my friends to shoot me down for that too.

I only know it was Elton who said this because this is my 4th watch through by now.

The gang runs into pete’s grandfather, who is on his way to pick pete up from the bus station. We’re not really supposed to know that yet, or at least, the boys aren’t. They ask when Pete is getting back into town, but Grandfather dodges his question by saying, “sorry boys, I really can’t talk now, bye.” and drives off. So, he’s not lying exactly, but…. he’s clearly hiding something. Otherwise he’d give them a quick, “no,” or a quick, “he’s coming back sometime this -insert month here- but I don’t have time to talk about it.” He’s clearly being evasive, but the boys are too naïve to catch on.

We watch the boys passing out newspapers…. boring. They talk about the senior dance…. they want to go to the junior high dance…. I don’t care.

Seriously, the main plot point hasn’t started yet.

 

Anyway, that’s all I have time for tonight. I work all day tomorrow, so the next post will be up on Friday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

